

In 1934 the U.S. Congress followed up on President Franklin Roosevelt's request to set up the Federal Communications Commission, known as the FCC. As a Commission, the FCC is a U.S. government agency independent of the Executive Branch and is directly responsible to Congress. The Communications Act of 1934 gave the FCC authority over "all services affected to be all those which rely on wires, cables or radio as

a mean of transmission". As technology advanced, the Commission's authority covered broadcast and cable television, satellite, pagers, wireless telephones, as well as radio, telegraph and wireline telephone.

The FCC is headed by five Commissioners.

The President chooses one of the Commissioners to serve as the Chairman.



Kevin J. Martin, FCC Chairman

Only three Commissioners can be of the same political party at any given time.





D. Taylor Tate

Michael J. Copps

vacant

Jonathan S. Adelstein

All Commissioners, including the Chairman, have five year terms, and are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate.

The FCC headquarters is located in a 10-story building called Portals II, located at 445 12th Street, SW., in Washington DC.



The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) has Specialist answering your questions Monday thru Friday 9:00am til 5:00pm (Eastern Standard Time) there are many ways to contact the Commission you can dial 1-888-Call-FCC (1-888-225-5322) or if you or someone you know are hearing impaired you can contact the FCC by dialing 1-888-Tell-FCC (1-888-835-5322).





- 1) You can contact the FCC by dialing what number?
 - a) 1-888-555-1212
 - b) 1-888-645-9018
 - c) 1-888-225-5322
 - d) None of the above
- 2) Which President signed the Act which established the FCC?
 a) Richard Nixon
 b) Franklin Roosevelt
 c) George W. Bush
 d) None of the Above
- 3) The ______ Act of 1934 gave the FCC authority over all services which rely on wires, cable or radio as a mean of transmission.
- 4) What year was the FCC established?
 - a) 1968
 b) 1955
 c) 1934
 d) none of the above
- 5) What is the name of the FCC Chairman?
 - a) K. Dane Snowden
 - b) Colin Powell
 - c) Michael K. Powell
 - d) Kevin J. Martin

6) What is the length of one term for an FCC Commissioner?

a) 3 years

- b) 5 years
- c) 8 years
- d) None of the above

7) Who appoints and confirms the Commissioners to the Federal Communications Commission?

- a) The Secretary of State and the President
- b) The President and the Senate
- c) The President and The House Speaker
- d) None of the above
- 8) What technology allows a parent to block television programming?
 - a) The V-Chip
 - b) The X-Chip
 - c) The Z-Chip
 - d) The Neilson Ratings

9) What is an access charge?

- a) A charge you pay to get across the bridge.
- b) A fee for access to a phone booth.
- c) A fee charged by local phone companies for use of their networks.
- d) A fee charged by your internet service provider.
- 10) What is the 555- exchange saved for?
 - a) Special Undercover Operations
 - b) Television shows and movies
 - c) Emergency Calls
 - d) The White House

Answer key: 10b, 9c, 8a, 7b, 6b, 5d, 4c, 3-Communications, 2b, 1c