This Public Notice: Text | Word97
News Release
Market Entry Barriers Study


Federal Communications Commission
445 12th St., SW
Washington, D.C. 20554
News media information 202 / 418-0500
Fax-On-Demand 202 / 418-2830
TTY: 202/418-2555

DA 00-2788
Released: December 8, 2000


As announced on December 1, 2000, a public forum will be convened at the FCC to discuss a series of studies examining the extent, if any, to which small, women- and minority-owned firms in the communications industry experience market entry barriers. The studies will be presented at a policy forum on Tuesday, December 12, 2000, from 9:30 AM to 1:00 PM. The policy forum will be held in the FCC's Commission Meeting Room, TW-C305, 445 12th Street, SW, Washington, D.C.

The purpose of the forum is to present the findings of the studies. The studies were commenced pursuant to Section 257 of the Telecommunications Act of 1996, 47 U.S.C. 257, which requires that the FCC identify and eliminate market entry barriers for entrepreneurs and other small telecommunications businesses, and Section 309(j) of the Act, which requires the FCC to further opportunities in the allocation of spectrum-based services for small businesses and businesses owned by women and minorities.

The forum will begin with presentations by the experts who conducted studies, and will be followed by a roundtable discussion with industry practitioners, civil rights experts, and the authors to further explore and discuss the findings reached in the reports. A list of the study authors and expected roundtable participants is attached. FCC Chairman William E. Kennard, Commissioner Susan Ness, and Commissioner Gloria Tristani will moderate and participate in the roundtable discussion.

The forum is open to the public, and seating will be available on a first come, first served basis. At the end of the roundtable, we will provide the audience with an opportunity for a short question-and-answer period. All interested persons are invited to attend. Individuals with disabilities may arrange for accommodations by contacting Brian Millin at (202) 418-7426 (Voice), (202) 418-7365 (TTY), or by sending an email to

Office of General Counsel contacts: Cornell William Brooks, Sharon Bradford Franklin, or Steven C. Rangel at (202) 418-1700. Office of Communications Business Opportunities contact: C. Anthony Bush at (202) 418-0990.

Tentative List of Participants
Mr. William Bradford,
University of Washington

Mr. Tom Castro,
El Dorado Communications

Mr. Allen Hammond,
Santa Clara University

Mr. David Honig,
Minority Media Telecommunications Council

Rev. Jesse Jackson,
Rainbow Push Coalition

Ms. Laurie Mason,
Santa Clara University

Rev. Everett C. Parker,
United Church of Christ

Mr. John Relman,
Relman & Associates

Ms. Shelley Sadowsky,
American Women in Radio & Television

Mr. Jon Silverman,

Ms. Janet C. Smith,
Ivy Planning Group

Ms. Diane Sutter,
Shooting Star Broadcasting

Mr. Darrell Williams,
Telecommunications Development Fund

Mr. James Winston,
National Assoc. of Black-Owned Broadcasters

Ms. Patricia Worthy,
Howard University