[ Text | Word97 ]


Federal Communications Commission
445 12th St., SW
Washington, D.C. 20554
News media information 202 / 418-0500
Fax-On-Demand 202 / 418-2830
Internet: http://www.fcc.gov
TTY: 202/418-2555

September 29, 1999


A follow-up public forum to discuss Chairman Kennard's recently released draft strategic plan, "A New FCC for the 21st Century," will be held Thursday, September 30, 1999, from 10 am to 1 pm. The draft plan is available on the FCC website at: www.fcc.gov.

The forum will be held in the Commission Meeting Room at 445 12th Street, SW, Washington, DC. It will be open to the public and seating will be available on a first come, first served basis. Chairman Kennard will welcome the forum participants and Kathryn Brown, the FCC's Chief of Staff, will moderate the discussion.

The agenda for this forum will include a half-hour session on each of the four goals identified in the draft strategic plan. Those goals are: (1) create a model agency for the digital age; (2) promote competition in all communications markets; (3) promote opportunities for all Americans to benefit from the communications revolution; and (4) manage the electromagnetic spectrum (the Nation's airwaves) in the public interest. The participants will comment on the initiatives identified in the plan under each of these goals as well as on any other aspects of the draft strategic plan, including recommended legislative proposals.

The forum participants are:

Rich Barth - Motorola Corporation

Debra Berlyn - Competition Policy Institute

Jim Blitz - Davis Wright Tremaine LLP

Alan Ciamporcero - GTE Services Corporation

Peter Cramton - University of Maryland

Jannette Dates - Black College Communication Association

Michele Farquhar - Hogan and Hartson, Counsel to Western Wireless Corp.

Judy Harkins - Gallaudet University

Joanne Kumekawa - The Office for the Advancement of Telehealth

Pat Mahoney - Satellite Industry Association

Robert McDowell - Competitive Telecommunications Association

Roy Neel - United States Telephone Association

Kofi Ofori - Black College Communication Association

Preston Padden - The Walt Disney Company

Steve Pociask - Joel Popkin and Company Economic Consulting

Brad Ramsay - National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners

Jonathan Sallet - MCI WorldCom, Inc.

Larry Sarjeant - United States Telephone Association

Al Sonnenstrahl - Consumer Action Network of Deaf and Hard of Hearing Consumers

Larry Spiwak - Phoenix Center for Advanced Legal and Economic Public Policy Studies

Pam Stewart - Maryland Public Utility Commission

Claude Stout - Telecommunication for the Deaf, Inc.

Karen Peltz Strauss - National Association of the Deaf

Jenell Trigg - The Telecom Opportunity Institute

David Turetsky - Teligent

Jennifer Warren - Lockheed Martin Corporation

The forum will be closed captioned and will be carried live on the Internet through RealAudio from the FCC website at: http://www.fcc.gov/realaudio/. The forum will also be closed captioned on the Internet at: http://www.lexicast.com/.

A transcript of the forum will be available 10 business days after the event on the FCC's Internet site. The URL address for the FCC's Internet Home Page is http://www.fcc.gov. Transcripts may also be obtained from the FCC's duplicating contractor, International Transcription Service, 1231 20th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, by calling ITS at (202) 857-3800, TTY (202) 293-8810, or faxing ITS at (202) 857-3805.

Audio and video tapes of the forum may be purchased from Infocus, 341 Victory Drive, Herndon, VA 20170, by calling Infocus at (703) 834-0100 or by faxing Infocus at (703) 834-0111. Copies of the transcript in other alternative formats (computer diskette, large print, and Braille) are available to persons with disabilities by contacting Martha Contee at (202) 418-0260 voice, (202) 418-2555 TTY, or at mcontee@fcc.gov.

For additional information, contact Steve Klitzman at (202) 418-1913, TTY (202) 418-2555 or Lisa Gaisford at (202) 418-7280, TTY (202) 418-1169.

News media contact: Maureen Peratino at (202) 418-0500, TTY (202) 418-2555.