[ Text Version | WordPerfect Version ]

fcclogo NEWS

Federal Communications Commission
445 12th Street, S.W.
Washington, D.C. 20554
News media information 202 / 418-0500
Fax-On-Demand 202 / 418-2830
Internet: http://www.fcc.gov
TTY: 202/418-2555

This is an unofficial announcement of Commission action. Release of the full text of a Commission order constitutes official action. See MCI v. FCC. 515 F 2d 385 (D.C. Circ 1974).

June 1, 1999


Representatives of consumer groups and state and local government will participate in a public forum to discuss the future of the Federal Communications Commission in the 21st Century on Wednesday, June 2, 1999, from 10:00 am to 1 pm. The purpose of the forum is to assist Chairman Kennard in preparing a five-year strategic plan that will outline a timetable for restructuring and streamlining FCC functions and management. This will be the second in a series of three public forums.

The forum will be held in the Commission Meeting Room at 445 12th Street, S.W., Washington, D.C. It will be open to the public, and seating will be available on a first come, first serve basis. Kathryn Brown, the FCC's Chief of Staff, will moderate the discussion.

The following consumer and state and local government representatives will participate in the June 2 public forum:

Marilyn Praisner - The Local and State Government Advisory Committee (LSGAC)

Andy Schwartzman - Media Access Project (MAP)

Jeff Kramer - AARP

Susan Grant - National Consumers League (NCL)

Debra Berlyn - Competition Policy Institute (CPI)

Chip Shooshan - Strategic Policy Research, Inc. (SPR)

Susan Parnas and Deborah Rigsby - National League of Cities (NLC)

Jenell Trigg - The Telecom Opportunity Institute (TTOI)

Eric Menge - Office of Advocacy, U.S. Small Business Administration

Lee Ruck - The National Association of Telecommunications Officers and Advisors (NATOA)

Jane Lawton - Cable Administrator for Montgomery County, MD

Karen Peltz Strauss - National Association of the Deaf (NAD) and Council of Organizational Representatives on National Issues Concerning People who are Deaf or Hard of Hearing (COR)

Maureen Lewis - Alliance for Public Technology (APT)

Steve Picou - Louisiana Music Commission

Mike Travieso - People's Counsel for State of Maryland

Joanne Kumekawa - The Office for the Advancement of Telehealth (OAT)

Claude Stout - Telecommunications for the Deaf (TDI)

Alan Dinsmore and Scott Marshall - American Foundation for the Blind

Charles Crawford

Kevin McCarty - U.S. Conference of Mayors

Mike Bracy - Low Power Radio Coalition

Brad Ramsay - National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC)

David Newberger - Campaign for Telecom Access

Al Sonnenstrahl - Consumer Action Network of Deaf and Hard of Hearing Consumers (CAN)

The public forum will be divided into three sessions:

Session I: What Should the FCC's Role Be in the 21st Century?

Session II: How Can the FCC Work More Efficiently and Effectively to Deliver Services to the Public?

Session III: How Should the FCC Be Structured in the Communications Marketplace of the Future?

An e-mail site has been established to receive additional input from the public on the above questions. The e-mail address is: newfcc@fcc.gov. In addition, time permitting, views and/or questions received during the course of the public forums via this e-mail site will be addressed at the public forums along with the views of the attendees.

The forum will be closed captioned and will be carried live on the Internet through RealAudio from the FCC website at: http://www.fcc.gov/realaudio/. The forum will also be closed captioned on the Internet at: http://www.lexicast.com.

A transcript of each of the forums will be available 10 business days after each event on the FCC's Internet site at: http://www.fcc.gov/21st_century/. Transcripts may also be obtained from the FCC's duplicating contractor, International Transcription Service, 1231 20th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, by calling ITS at (202) 857-3800, TTY (202) 293-8810, or faxing ITS at (202) 857-3805. Audio and video tapes of the forums may be purchased from Infocus, 341 Victory Drive, Herndon, VA 20170, by calling Infocus at (703) 834-0100 or by faxing Infocus at (703) 834-0111. Copies of the transcripts in other alternative formats (computer diskette, large print, and Braille) are available to persons with disabilities by contacting Martha Contee at (202) 418-0260 voice, (202) 418-2555 TTY, or at mcontee@fcc.gov.

The next Public Forum will be held on Friday, June 11, from 10 am - 1 pm with academic and organizational experts. Persons or organizations interested in participating in the June 11 forum should contact Lisa Sockett at (202) 418-2668, TTY (202) 418-1169.

News media contacts: David Fiske or Maureen Peratino at (202) 418-0500, TTY (202) 418-2555.

- FCC -