This News Release: Text | Word97
Statements: Kennard | Tristani
Press Conference: Audio/Video
LPFM Applicant's Guide: Acrobat Format
LPFM Factsheet: Low Power FM Radio Service: Allegations and Facts

fcclogo NEWS

Federal Communications Commission
445 12th Street, S.W.
Washington, D.C. 20554
News media information 202 / 418-0500
Fax-On-Demand 202 / 418-2830
TTY: 202/418-2555

This is an unofficial announcement of Commission action. Release of the full text of a Commission order constitutes official action. See MCI v. FCC. 515 F 2d 385 (D.C. Circ 1974).

March 27, 2000

News Media Contacts:
David Fiske at (202) 418-0513
Rosemary Kimball at (202) 418-0511

Actual Dates of Filing Windows to be Announced in Later Public Notice

Washington, DC - The FCC today held its low power FM lottery to determine the order in which it will accept applications for this new radio service.

The lottery determined that the applicants from the following group of states will be the first to be accepted: Alaska, California, District of Columbia, Georgia, Indiana, Louisiana, Maine, Mariana Islands, Maryland, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, Utah.

The Commission will take applications during a five-day filing window that will be announced in a subsequent Public Notice to be issued at the end of April, 30 days prior to the first day of the filing window, which will be at the end of May.

As he kicked-off the lottery process, FCC Chairman William E. Kennard, said, "Today we begin a process that offers access to the airwaves to many Americans - such as members of schools, churches, minority groups, public safety agencies, volunteer fire departments and other local community groups. I look forward to the FCC's soon receiving applications from many groups that, through these short-range, low power radio stations, will have a voice to serve their local communities."

Commissioner Gloria Tristani said, "My grandfather, the late U.S. Senator Dennis Chavez, taught me that one of the most important things we can do as public servants is to give a voice to the voiceless. That's why low power radio is so important."

The Commission will be accepting applications in five groups. Evenly divided within those five groups are the 50 states, as well as U.S. possessions and territories.

The following is the order, also determined by lottery today, for processing applications from applicants in the remaining state groups:

No. 2. Connecticut, Illinois, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nevada, New Hampshire, Puerto Rico, Virginia, Wyoming. (Public Notice July 2000; filing window: August 2000)

No. 3. American Samoa, Colorado, Delaware, Hawaii, Idaho, Missouri, New York, Ohio, South Carolina, South Dakota, Wisconsin (Public Notice October 2000; filing window: November 2000)

No. 4. Arizona, Florida, Iowa, New Jersey, North Dakota, Oregon, Tennessee, Texas, U.S. Virgin Islands, Vermont, West Virginia (Public Notice January 2001; filing window: February 2001)

No. 5. Alabama, Arkansas, Guam, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Washington (Public Notice April 2001; filing window: May 2001)

The actual dates for the filing windows in each state grouping will be announced in subsequent Public Notices.

- FCC -