This Public Notice: Text | Word97
Previous Public Notice: November 28, 2000


Federal Communications Commission
445 12th St., SW
Washington, D.C. 20554
News media information 202 / 418-0500
Fax-On-Demand 202 / 418-2830
TTY: 202/418-2555

DA 00-2738
Released: December 5, 2000


The Technological Advisory Council ("Council"), as constituted under its initial charter, will hold its seventh and concluding meeting on Wednesday, December 6, at 10:00 a.m. at the Federal Communications Commission, 445 12th St. S.W., Room TW-C305, Washington, D.C. The Council was established by the Federal Communications Commission to enable a wide array of distinguished technologists from industry, academia, government, and the public to provide recommendations to the FCC concerning technological developments in the communications industry. The Council will be rechartered with additions to its membership in 2001.

At this meeting, Dale Hatfield will speak on the accomplishments and on the rechartering of the Council. Jules Bellisio will speak on the funding of the noise floor study. Paul Kolodzy will speak on spectrum issues. Charles Jackson will present the report of the Spectrum Focus Group. Gregg Vanderheiden will report on the Access to Telecommunications by Persons with Disabilities Focus Group. And Marvin Sirbu will present the report of the Interconnection and Network Access Focus Group.

The Council may also consider such other issues as may come before the Council at the meeting. Members of the general public may attend. Admittance, however, will be limited to the seating available. Brief oral comments to the Council may be made with prior notice to, and approval by, the Federal Communications Commission's Designated Federal Officer for the Technological Advisory Council, David Farber (e-mail: DFARBER@FCC.GOV).

For further information, contact Kent Nilsson at 202-418-0845 or TTY 202-418-2989.