[ Text Version | WordPerfect Version | Technological Advisory Council Home Page ]


Federal Communications Commission
1919 - M Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20554
News media information 202 / 418-0500
Fax-On-Demand 202 / 418-2830
Internet: http://www.fcc.gov

Released: April 2, 1999


The FCC today announced the formation of the Technological Advisory Council. The Council, comprised of a diverse array of recognized technical experts, will help provide the technical expertise the Commission needs to stay abreast of innovations and new developments in the communications industry.

In announcing the members of the Council, Chairman Kennard stated: "I am thrilled that so many extraordinarily talented and respected individuals have been willing to share their time and expertise with the Commission. The work of this Council will continue to increase in importance as the Commission strives, during a period of exceptionally rapid technological change, to fulfill its responsibilities to the public ."

Dr. Robert Lucky, Corporate Vice President, Telecordia (formerly Bellcore) will serve as Chair of the Council and Dr. Jules Bellisio, Chief Scientist, Telecordia, will serve as Executive Director. Dr. Stagg Newman, Chief Technologist for the Commission, will serve as the Designated Federal Officer.

Dale Hatfield, Chief of the Office of Engineering and Technology, who will serve as Alternate Designated Federal Officer for the Council, said "We are eager for the council to analyze the difficult technical issues facing the Commission in such areas as spectrum management, convergence, and the Internet. Sound technical advice is essential to our developing the best policies to serve the public."

The first meeting of the Council will be April 30, 1999, from 10:00 am to 3:00 pm in the Commission Meeting Room, 445 12th Street, S.W., Washington, D.C. The Council will discuss organizational matters, be briefed on key technical issues facing the Commission, and will work to define the issues that the Council will address. The public is invited to attend.

The Chair and members of the Council are as follows:


Dr. Bob Lucky - Vice President & Officer in Charge of Applied Research, Telecordia Technologies, formerly Bellcore (Bell Communications Research).

Members of the Technological Advisory Council

Mr. Bruce Allen - Vice President and General Manager, Harris Corporation,

Mr. Jose M. Alvarez Caban - Assistive Technology Specialist, Puerto Rico Assitive Technology Project, University of Puerto Rico.

Dr. Vincent Cerf - Senior Vice President, Internet Architecture and Technology, MCI Worldcom.

Ms. Susan Estrada - President and CEO, Aldea Communication.

Mr. Bran Ferren - Executive Vice President for Creative Technology and Research Development, Disney/ABC.

Dr. Richard Green - President and CEO, CableLabs,

Ms. Christine Hemrick - Vice President, Technology Communications, Office of the CTO, Cisco Systems, Inc.

Mr. Dewayne Hendrick - General Manager, Wireless Business Unit, Com21.

Mr. Ross Ireland - Vice President - Engineering, SBC.

Mr. Kalle Kontson - Division Technology Manager, Center for Electromagnetic Science and Vice President IIT Research Institute

Dr. Charles E. Jackson - Independent consultant.

Dr. William Lee - Chief Scientist, AirTouch/Vodaphone.

Dr. Paul Liao - Chief Technology Officer, Panasonic and President of Panasonic Technologies.

Dr. Wah Lim - Vice President for Technology and Development for Hughes Space and Communications Company.

Dr. Robert Martin - Chief Technology Officer of Bell Labs, Lucent.

Dr. David Nagel - President AT&T Labs and CTO for AT&T,

Mr, Glenn Reitmeier, Vice President, DTV and Web Media, Sarnoff Laboratories.

Mr. Dennis Roberson - Vice President & CTO, Motorola.

Dr. Marvin Sirbu - Profesor of Engineering and Public Policy, Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering, Professor - Graduate School of Industrial Administration, and Chairman of the Information Networking Institute, Carnegie Mellon University.

Dr. Greg Vanderheiden - Professor - Human factors Group, Dept. of Industrial Engineering, University of Wisconsin, and Director of Trace Research and Development Center.

Mr. Jack Waters - VP of Network Engineering, Level 3 Communications.

Dr. Pat White - Director, Telecommunications Practice, AD Little. Robert Zitter - Senior Vice President, Technology Operations, Home Box Office.

Executive Director

Dr.Jules A.Bellisio, Chief Scientist/Executive Director, Telecordia Technologies, formerly Bellcore (Bell Communications Research).

Designated Federal Officer

Dr. Stagg Newman, Chief Technologist, Federal Communications Commission.

Alternate Designated Federal Officer

Dale Hatfield, Chief, Office of Engineering and Technology, Federal Communications Commission.

For further information, contact Jack Linthicum at 202-418-2441 voice, 202-418-1918 fax, jlinthic@fcc.gov.