[ text version ]


Federal Communications Commission
1919 - M Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20554
News media information 202 / 418-0500
Fax-On-Demand 202 / 418-2830
Internet: http://www.fcc.gov

DA 97-2089
Released: September 26, 1997

(CC Docket No. 90-571)

Notice is hereby given that the states listed below have applied to the Commission for State Telecommunications Relay Service (TRS) Certification. Current state certifications expire July 25, 1998. Applications for certification, covering the five year period of July 26, 1998 to July 25, 2003, must demonstrate that the state TRS program complies with the Commission's rules for the provision of TRS, pursuant to Title IV of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), 47 U.S.C. § 225. These rules are codified at 47 CFR §§ 64.601-605.

Copies of applications for certification are available for public inspection at the Commission's Common Carrier Bureau, Network Services Division, Room 235, 2000 M Street, N.W., Washington, D.C., Monday through Thursday, 8:30 AM to 3:00 PM (closed 12:30 to 1:30 PM) and the FCC Reference Center, Room 239, 1919 M Street, N.W., Washington, D.C., daily, from 9:00 AM to 4:30 PM. Interested persons may file comments with respect to those applications on or before November 14, 1997. Comments should reference the relevant state file number of the state application that is being commented upon. One original and five copies of all comments must be sent to William F. Caton, Acting Secretary, Federal Communications Commission, 1919 M Street, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20554. Two copies also should be sent to the Network Services Division, Common Carrier Bureau, 2000 M Street, N.W., Room 235, Washington, D.C. 20554.

Applicants for State Certification

File No: TRS-97-03
Applicant: Alabama Public Service Commission
State of Alabama

File No. TRS-97-04
Applicant: Michigan Public Service Commission
State of Michigan

File No. TRS-97-05
Applicant: Oregon Public Utility Commission
State of Oregon

File No. TRS-97-06
Applicant: Georgia Public Service Commission
State of Georgia

For further information, contact Al McCloud, (202) 418-2499, amccloud@fcc.gov, or Andy Firth, (202) 418-2224 (TTY), afirth@fcc.gov, at the Network Services Division, Common Carrier Bureau, Federal Communications Commission.