700 MHz Public Safety Spectrum

The 700 MHz Band comprises 108 megahertz of spectrum from 698-806 MHz and is designated for commercial and public safety uses. Currently, this spectrum is occupied by TV broadcasters in Channels 52-69. Congress has directed that TV broadcasters transition to digital broadcast technology and vacate the spectrum in order to accommodate wireless commercial and public safety uses of the spectrum. The Digital Television and Public Safety Act of 2005 (DTV Act) set a firm deadline of June 12, 2009, for the completion of the DTV transition. In July 2007, the Commission adopted the 700 MHz Second Report and Order that adopted a regulatory framework for the 700 MHz public safety band to facilitate the establishment of a nationwide, interoperable broadband communications network for the benefit of state and local public safety users.

Safety Band Graphic

700 MHz Public Safety Band

In implementing Congress' directive to reallocate the airwaves, the Commission is focused on serving the public interest and the American people. The new 700 MHz Band service rules will help create a nationwide broadband network for public safety that will address many of the interoperability problems of today’s systems.

Regional Planning Graphic

Regional Planning

A portion of the 700 MHz public safety narrowband spectrum is designated for general use by local, regional and state users.  In this section you will find information on regional maps and plans, regional planning committees, and the latest information on regional planning committee meetings.

Interoperability Spectrum Graphic

Interoperability Spectrum

Another key aspect of the 700 MHz band is the use of part of the 700 MHz public safety narrowband spectrum for nationwide interoperable communications.

State License Graphic

State License

Certain narrowband channels are designated as state channels.