Go to FCC.gov
FCC Logo - Return to the FCC Home Page  
  Office of Engineering and Technology

FM Broadcast Zones

FM Broadcast Zones Data for download

Subpart B - FM Broadcast Stations

§ 73.205 Zones.

For the purpose of allotments and assignments, the United States is divided into three zones as follows:

(a) Zone I consists of that portion of the United States located within the confines of the following lines drawn on the United States Albers Equal Area Projection Map (based on standard parallels 291/2° and 451/2°; North American datum): Beginning at the most easterly point on the State boundary line between North Carolina and Virginia; thence in a straight line to a point on the VirginiaWest Virginia boundary line located at north latitude 37°49' and west longitude 80°12'30"; thence westerly along the southern boundary lines of the States of West Virginia, Ohio, Indiana, and Illinois to a point at the junction of the Illinois, Kentucky, and Missouri State boundary lines; thence northerly along the western boundary line of the State of Illinois to a point at the junction of the Illinois, Iowa, and Wisconsin State boundary lines; thence easterly along the northern State boundary line of Illinois to the 90th meridian; thence north along this meridian to the 43.5° parallel; thence east along this parallel to the United States-Canada border; thence southerly and following that border until it again intersects the 43.5° parallel; thence east along this parallel to the 71st meridian; thence in a straight line to the intersection of the 69th meridian and the 45th parallel; thence east along the 45th parallel to the Atlantic Ocean. When any of the above lines pass through a city, the city shall be considered to be located in Zone I. (See Figure 1 of § 73.699.)

(b) Zone I-A consists of Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands and that portion of the State of California which is located south of the 40th parallel.

(c) Zone II consists of Alaska, Hawaii and the rest of the United States which is not located in either Zone I or Zone I-A.

[29 FR 14116, Oct. 14, 1964, and 31 FR 10125, July 27, 1966, as amended at 48 FR 29504, June 27, 1983]

Note: Every effort was made to accurately depict the rules. In certain instances an interpretation of this data was made which may not reflect the legal position of the United States.

Last Updated/Reviewed on: Thursday, January 13, 2000 

If you have questions about this web page or would like more information pertaining to OET please send email to oetinfo@fcc.gov

Skip FCC Footer and Contact InfoFederal Communications Commission
445 12th Street SW
Washington, DC 20554
More FCC Contact Information...
Phone:  888-CALL-FCC (225-5322)
TTY:  888-TELL-FCC (835-5322)
Fax:  202-418-0232
E-mail:  fccinfo@fcc.gov
- Web Policies & Privacy Statement
- Customer Service Standards
- Freedom of Information Act