Go to FCC.gov
FCC Logo - Return to the FCC Home Page  
  Equipment Authorization  

EA Related DatabasesSkip Issue Box-OET On-Line
FCC ID Search
Knowledge Database
Test Sites

PublicationsSkip Issue Box-OET On-Line
Measurement Procedures
Public Notices
Submit FCC Form 731

Agreement on Mutual Recognition between the European Community (EC) and the United States of America


The agreement was signed in December 1998 and became operational in December 2000.  It is intended to streamline the Conformity Assessment Procedures for a wide range of telecommunications and telecommunications-related equipment and facilitates trade between the U.S. and EU member states.
It provides for the mutual recognition of Conformity Assessment Bodies (CABs) and mutual acceptance of the results of testing and equipment certification procedures undertaken by those bodies in assessing conformity of equipment to the importing country’s Technical Regulations.


The scope for the Sectoral annex for telecommunication equipment includes all equipment subject to telecommunications regulations including wire and wireless equipment, network terminal attachments, terrestrial and satellite equipment. For such equipment the MRA covers electromagnetic compatibility (EMC), radio and telephone terminal equipment requirements.
The Sectoral annex for electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) applies to the recognition of Conformity Assessment Bodies (CABs) for products falling under EMC Directive 2004/108/EC and FCC Title 47 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Parts 15 and 18.
The Sectoral annex for Radio & Telecommunication Terminal Equipment (R&TTE) applies to the recognition of CABs for products falling under R&TTE Directive 1999/5/EC and FCC Title 47 CFR Parts 0-101.

General Information about MRA

The EU MRA is a bilateral, multi-sector agreement.  The sectors include Telecom, electromagnetic compatibility (EMC), pharmaceuticals, good manufacturing practices, electrical safety, medical devices, and recreational craft.  The FCC is the regulatory authority for EMC and Telecom
For foreign CABs designated to the U.S. under this MRA all information is submitted to the FCC from the CABs through the European Commission.
There are 27 countries which are members of the European Commission.
The EC and U.S. meet regularly to discuss implementation and operational issues.

Participating Countries

All member states are eligible to participate.  Member states currently participating in the EMC Annex are:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Netherlands
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • United Kingdom

All member states are eligible to participate.  Member states currently participating in the Telecommunications Annex are:

  • Austria
  • Germany
  • Netherlands
  • Sweden
  • United Kingdom

Links/Supporting Information

The text of the EC MRA may be viewed at:

Additional information regarding the EU MRA may be found on the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) web site at: http://gsi.nist.gov/global/index.cfm/L1-4/L2-16/L3-85

last reviewed/updated 6/22/12

If you have questions about this web page, or would like more information pertaining to OET, please send e-mail to oetinfo@fcc.gov

Skip FCC Footer and Contact InfoFederal Communications Commission
445 12th Street SW
Washington, DC 20554
More FCC Contact Information...
Phone:  1-888-CALL-FCC (1-888-225-5322)
TTY:  1-888-TELL-FCC (1-888-835-5322)
Fax:  1-866-418-0232
- Privacy Policy
- Website Policies & Notices
- Required Browser Plug-ins
- Freedom of Information Act