The following information sheet is sent to AM and FM applicants at the time a construction permit application for a new radio broadcast station is granted. It provides basic information as to FCC requirements and policies that a new station permittee should be aware of.
The Federal Communications Commission has granted your initial construction permit for a new AM or FM radio broadcast station. Enclosed in this envelope you will find that construction permit, along eith general information to guide you toward the next steps to implement the newly authorized broadcast service.
enclosed Information Sheet, " Information About Your
AM or FM Construction Permit", contains general information which
applies to all AM or FM construction permits, whether they are initial permits
for new stations or to modify an existing granted construction permit.
Information about the expiration date, construction in
accordance with the permit, modification applications, main studio location,
equipment test operations, program test operations, applications for license
(Form 302-AM or Form 302-FM) and construction
permit modifications, and where to obtain application forms are briefly covered therein.
Telephone numbers for further information are also
listed at the end of that information sheet. Please read it.
Call Sign (47 C.F.R. 73.3550) -- Within 30 days of the
construction permit grant date, the permittee should request that a call sign
be assigned to the new station. The permittee may request that specific call
letters be assigned, provided that they are not already in use by another station.
Four letter call signs starting with "W" are
assigned to radio stations east of the Mississippi River, and four letter call
signs starting with "K" are
assigned to radio stations located west of the Mississippi River.
Please note that the station may not commence
operations until a call sign has been assigned.
No application filing fee is required from applicants seeking an initial call sign for a new station. Commercial station permittees and licensees proposing changes to an existing call sign (other than adding or dropping a -FM suffix) are required to pay an application filing fee. This may be done electronically using the "Form 159" button in the Call Sign Reservation and Authorization System.
* Ownership Report (FCC Form 323 or Form 323-E) -- A new permittee must electronically submit an ownership report to the Commission within 30 days of the date of grant. See 47 CFR 73.3615(b) of the Commission's Rules.
Noncommercial educational AM and FM permittees must use FCC Form 323-E for the ownership report. In the event that the permittee is already the licensee or permittee of another broadcast station, has on file a current ownership report, and no changes to the information required by 47 CFR 73.3615(a) are necessary, then the permittee need not complete Item 5 on Page 2 of Form 323-E. Contractual information required by 47 CFR 73.3613 not currently reported or on file with the Commission should be fully reported in Item 2, Page 1 of Form 323-E and copies of each instrument of authorization should be submitted with the report.
Form 323-E must be electronically filed at the FCC through http://svartifoss2.fcc.gov/prod/cdbs/forms/prod/cdbs_ef.htm. You may prepare before electronic filing of the application, by using a paper copy of the form, available at http://www.fcc.gov/formpage.html. There is no application filing fee.
Commercial AM and FM stations must use FCC Form 323 for the ownership report. The initial ownership report for a NEW broadcast station is exempt from payment of the application filing fee, provided that the application includes an exhibit indicating that the application is the initial ownership report for a new broadcast station and providing the call letters and construction permit file number. In the event that the permittee is already the licensee or permittee of another broadcast station, has on file a current ownership report, and no changes to the information required by 47 CFR 73.3615(a) are necessary, then the permittee need not complete Item 9, Section II of Form 323. Contractual information required by 47 CFR 73.3613 not currently reported or on file with the Commission should be fully reported in Item 2, Page 1 of Form 323 and copies of each instrument of authorization should be submitted with the report. Form 323 must be electronically filed at the FCC through http://svartifoss2.fcc.gov/prod/cdbs/forms/prod/cdbs_ef.htm. You may prepare before electronic filing of the application, by using a paper copy of the form, available at http://www.fcc.gov/formpage.html. For the application filing fee information (if applicable), see the Mass Media Services Fee Filing Guide for fee and fee codes information.
* Emergency Alert System (EAS) (formerly the Emergency Broadcast System (EBS)): All permittees should contact the Emergency Alert System Staff at (202)-418-1220 to receive the required EAS material. Please see the the information on the Internet at http://www.fcc.gov/eb/eas/ .
* Fee Information. For AM and FM commercial stations, the Mass Media Services Fee Filing Guide explains the application filing process and lists the various fees and fee codes for specific types of applications. Noncommercial Educational FM stations and AM stations which were authorized for noncommercial educational operation are exempt from payment of application filing fees.
* MTDP. The Information Sheet, "Department of Commerce Minority Telecommunications Development Program", briefly explains a training course called ComTrain for minorities with construction permits in the areas of management and station operation. [ This information sheet is not available here, but please see the NTIA/Department of Commerce pages at MTDP. ]