Go to FCC.gov
FCC Logo - Return to the FCC Home Page  
  Localism Task Force Archives

Task Force Hearings Skip Hearings Links

Localism Task Force Public Hearing - 5/26/04
Surbeck Student Center Ballroom
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
501 East Saint Joseph Street
Rapid City, SD

The FCC's Localism Task Force has scheduled six public hearings on the subject of localism, and is holding the third of these in Rapid City, South Dakota. The purpose of this public hearing is to gather information from consumers, industry, civic organizations, and others on broadcasters’ service to their local communities.

Related Documents

FCC’s Localism Task Force Announces Panelists and Final Agenda for Public Hearing on Broadcast Localism in Rapid City, South Dakota, May 26, 2004.
News Release:
Word | Acrobat

FCC’s Localism Task Force Announces Date, Time, and Location for Public Hearing on Broadcast Localism in Rapid City, South Dakota.
Public Notice: Word | Acrobat

FCC to Hold Consumer Forums, Telecommunications Demonstrations, Workshop and Roundtable Discussions in South Dakota and North Dakota, May 24 - 27.
News Release: Word | Acrobat

FCC Localism Task Force Announces Date of Rapid City, South Dakota Hearing, RM 10803.
News Release: Word | Acrobat
Filing Instructions: Word | Acrobat


FCC Commissioners Jonathan Adelstein and Michael Copps will preside at the hearing.

5:30-6:00 pm Opening Remarks
6:00-7:00 pm Speaker Presentations

Bill Duhamel
President, Duhamel Broadcasting,
Licensee of KOTA-TV (ABC),
Rapid City, South Dakota

Eleanor St. John
Owner & Managing Partner, White Eagle Partners,
Licensee of KQEG (UPN),
La Crosse, Wisconsin

Park Owens
Director of Emergency Management,
Rapid City & Pennington County, South Dakota

Alan Harris
President, Wagonwheel Communications,
Licensee of KUGR-AM,
Green River, Wyoming

Thomas Short Bull
President, Oglala Lakota College,
Kyle, South Dakota

Maynard Meyer
President & General Manager, KLQP-FM,
Madison, Minnesota

Melanie Janis
Station Manager, KILI,
Porcupine, South Dakota

Tim Sughrue
Chief Operating Officer, Rapid City Regional Hospital,
Rapid City, South Dakota

Commissioner Questions

7:00-7:15 pm Break
7:15-7:35 pm Additional Community Perspectives

Steve Hemmingsen
News Anchor, KELO (retired),
Sioux Falls

The Honorable Jim Shaw
Rapid City, South Dakota

Phil W. Bravin
Technology Research and Development Officer,
Communication Service for the Deaf,
Sioux Falls

Mark Antonitis
President and General Manager, KELO Television,
Sioux Falls

Carole Anne Heart
Executive Director, Aberdeen Area Tribal Chairmen’s Health Board

Sonny Skyhawk
Founder, American Indians in Film and Television

Linda Marcus
President, South Dakota Broadcasters Association

Dawn Laskowski
Executive Director, American Red Cross
Black Hills Area Chapter
Rapid City

Mark Reed
Actor and Native American Member of the EEO Committee
Screen Actors Guild

Jim McKeon
President and CEO, Rapid City Area Chamber of Commerce

Patty Pearson
Director, Kids Voting South Dakota

7:35-9:00 pm Open Microphone

Steve Hemmingsen
News Anchor, KELO (retired),
Sioux Falls

Opportunities to speak during the open microphone session will be made available through a random selection method to avoid the need for members of the public to spend long periods of time waiting in line and to ensure an equal chance for all to speak.

Everyone entering the hearing will be asked to draw at random a card that will have a “Group Number” pre-printed on it (for example: “Group 25”). There are a total of 10 cards for each group. During the open microphone segment, group numbers will be randomly selected and displayed on screens in the hearing room and overflow seating area.

If a person’s group number is displayed, that person may proceed to the open microphone check-in area at the back of the hearing room. An FCC staff member will then direct them to the microphone at the appropriate time.

9:00 pm Closing Remarks

last reviewed/updated on 5/27/04 

Skip FCC Footer and Contact InfoFederal Communications Commission
445 12th Street SW
Washington, DC 20554
More FCC Contact Information...
Phone:  1-888-CALL-FCC (1-888-225-5322)
TTY:  1-888-TELL-FCC (1-888-835-5322)
Fax:  1-866-418-0232
- Privacy Policy
- Website Policies & Notices
- Required Browser Plug-ins
- Freedom of Information Act